Miami Clique – WTA Edition

I heard No Doubt’s “Don’t Speak” on the drive to Key Biscayne and thought the playlists on South Florida radio NEVER rotate. And yeah, I did think of Roger Federer. At least Miami is now part of “The Real Housewives.” I’m sort of hoping/fearing running into Elsa. If you watch the show, you know what I’m talking about. If you don’t, that’s her picture.

I have the feeling that in Miami you need to be part of a group. With that in mind, here is my breakdown of the women’s draw.

The Popular Girls Quarter

Here we find the class president…the model…the comedienne…the political one…and the drama queen. Let’s face it: the only one who matters and who will make anything happen here is the president, Caroline Wozniacki. Twist my arm and make me pick a match I’d like to see and I’ll go with Jelena Jankovic vs. Wozniacki only because Jankovic is the only one who would even want to beat Woz.

The Wendy Whiner Quarter

But I should have won Roland Garros…but I don’t like my outfits…but my shoulder hurts…but I have too many options…but my dad is a pain in the butt…but I put so much into Australia I don’t have anything left in the tank.

Even without a serve I think Maria Sharapova could beat any of the other players based on current form, so I’ll pick her. Twisting my other arm I’m going to hope both Safarova and Stosur show up and play an entertaining third round match.

Geek Corner

I’m old…I’m old school…I love my body…I kind of look like the picture of my grandmother when she landed on Ellis Island…I’m a genuis…I have meltdowns. This is a real tossup but I’m picking Agnieszka Radwanska. If they both play well, I would enjoy watching Bartoli battle Kelybanova.

Quarter with issues

She’s kind of mean…she’s short…she’s inconsistent…she’s new….she’s kind of tragic…she’s a little old….she’s a mom.

I loved how Kvitova played over the first two months and I’m hoping she’s back in form. If so, I’m going with her to make the semis. In a perfect world, Azarenka and Kvitova could be future rivals. I hope they play one another here.

I’ll skip semi predictions: Wozniacki should do the double this year.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

