Backhands and Compliments: WTA Edition

Julia Goerges Wins Stuttgart

Talk about a fresh face final! Caroline Wozniacki might have to share that Proactiv sponsorship with Julia Goerges! Goerges played great tennis and really reminds me of Mary Joe Fernandez. Not the MJF who never beat Chris Evert, but rather the MJF who started charging the net and hired Harold Solomon to coach her and made three slam finals. Both MJF and Goerges look alike, they move alike and even though Goerges has the kinkier strokes, they remind me of MJF’s. Now she just needs to keep those cheeks fully inflated. And, yes, Goerges’ dad was cute but remember when Barbara Becker used to practically faint while watching Boris? Or, the tears from Casey Dellacqua’s grandmother? Or the Petko dance? I’m just saying I hope it ends before Dick Enberg gets to commentate about it.

Alberta Brianti wins Fes

I’ll be honest: I had never heard of Alberta Brianti. I thought she must be some sort of newbie and then noticed she’s 31! And, she’s been on tour since 1999. While Germany is currently fielding Destiny’s Child reunion tour with Andrea Petkovic, Goerges and Sabine Lisicki, the Italians are looking like Rose from the television show 227: old.  Brianti, Roberta Vinci and Francesca Schiavone? I thought the outlook for the United States looked bleak but hey, at least the Italians are actually winning things.

WTA Week Ahead

Estoril

The women are hanging out in Estoril (just outside Lisbon, Portugal) and Barcelona. Straight away, I was bummed out Eleni Daniilidou didn’t qualify. I really loved her game but it’s just not looking too good for the Greek. And look at that! Jarmila Gajdosova is back! Where have you been all this time? I thought maybe you were a tourist or something. On the Tennis Channel ticker I noticed a flash that Monica Niculescu had the highest percentage of receiving games won on tour this year. I’m thinking Bethanie Mattek-Sands cannot like the sound of that (she drew her in the first round). I’ve got my eye on Elena Vesnina.

Barcelona

I have to admit I couldn’t find that draw on their website. That really annoys me. How hard is it to make a decent website these days? Sheesh. So, I went to Wikipedia and found it (here is the link in case you didn’t: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Barcelona_Ladies_Open_%E2%80%93_Singles#Draw).

As I write this, Marion Bartoli is already out in the first round. I guess she’s not liking the clay at all. Since I’ve already spoken about the Italian and United States teams, I’ll mention they are both in abundance in the draw. I’m curious to see how the early season hardcourt success will translate to clay for Ekaterina Makarova.

This entry was posted in Backhands and Compliments wrapup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Backhands and Compliments: WTA Edition

  1. Sean says:

    Any word on Doanld Young’s entitlement blow-up on twitter? (again)

  2. Pingback: Top seed Bartoli bounced in Barcelona | Best of Tennis

Leave a Reply

