Backhands and Compliments Rome (WTA) Edition

The Butt Court

Bethanie Mattek-Sands likes to play with her husband’s man boobs!!

I saw it with my own eyes at the Rome airport baggage claim last Saturday night. It was a cute scene. She sort of grabbed the man boobs and gave them a good shake with a huge grin on her face. Her husband then grabbed her wrists and gave her a look that to me said “Stop it, you’re embarrassing me.” She probably has to spend a lot of time hanging out at luggage carousels so why not have some fun?

And props to her for doing the Italian Fed cup knock down in Madrid and Rome! I watched her first round match against Flavia Pennetta from the living room of the apartment I rented in Rome last night. To win in Rome at 1 am against an Italian on what might not really be her worst surface anymore was pretty great. The thing with BMS is I never know if she is following a game plan or if her game is just working. In the second set her coach came on the court and said something like “Whatever you feel like doing is the right choice.” When you play go for broke tennis, the line between “game plan” and “being on” is very blurry.

Earlier in the day I went to the extremely vertical Campo Centrale. If you don’t like walking up old Mayan Temples like the ones you’ll find in the Yucatan Peninsula, I suggest you buy a ticket close to the court at the Italian Open’s main stage. That is one steep climb. I have to say I’m not so impressed with Christina McHale. I’ve seen her play twice and while she certainly can be accurate and patient, the matches I’ve seen her lose she seemed easily rushed and confused. But no one cared about her. Everyone came to watch her lose to Francesca Schiavone who jumped and screamed and made sure everyone left happy.

I also sat through a match on the “Butt” Court which is what I call the court surrounded by all the statutes. Everywhere you look there was a big white butt in your face. Of course most stares were on the white butts on court: Maria Kirilenko lost in straights to Andrea Petkovic.

Since I never made mention of it before, let’s go back quickly to Madrid. How’s that Petra Kvitova? I’m pretty bummed she isn’t here because I love watching her play. Remember when we used to classify tennis players as either baseliners or serve and volleyers? And then we suffered through the era of that lame “all court” player tag which really doesn’t mean anything. I’m  going to start something new for the women. You’re either a serve and hold player or serve and be broken player. Kvitova is a serve and hold player and does it when it matters most. For that alone, I’m rooting for you Petra. Let’s face it, if things stay the same until Wimbledon (and why wouldn’t they?) she definitely has to be in the top 3 favorites. Another player who is pole vaulting (drum roll, please) her way up – finally – is Victoria Azarenka. If the future of the WTA includes a nice rivalry between Azarenka and Kvitova there is some hope out there!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Backhands and Compliments Rome (WTA) Edition

  1. Sean says:

    I love BMS!

Leave a Reply

